Chicken Breast Fillets with White Wine and Sour Cream Sauce – and Caramelized Green Beans

Chicken dish
Successful experiment results!

Thaw out some boneless chicken breasts, and while they’re thawing, decide what you’re going to make with them. Oh wait, that’s what I do, but I’ll save you the agony of deciding by sharing this recipe. Just for the record, I hesitate to call any of my food ideas actual recipes since I am not too accurate about amounts and cooking times. I’ll feel better if you think of this as just a general guideline.

Note: I sliced the thick chicken breasts horizontally so I would have thinner fillets that cook faster.

3-4 pounds boneless chicken breast halves

Mrs. Dash seasoning blends: Table Blend and Extra Spicy (optional on the spicy – I think I’ll leave it out next time)

Salt, pepper, olive oil

White cooking wine – about 1 cup

Chicken boullion paste (optional)

Sour cream, to taste – or about 1/4 cup

Season one side of the breasts and place seasoned side down, in medium hot, oiled grill skillet or regular skillet. Add seasoning to the upper side. Wait to season the other side after you turn the pieces over in the skillet. This way, you don’t leave half of the seasoning on your cutting board.

Note: My grill skillet is shallow, so it was a little tricky to deglaze the pan, but it did work. Next time, I will sacrifice the grill marks and use a regular non-stick skillet.

Sauté until nicely golden or until those great grill marks appear. Turn the breasts over, season other side, and saute another few minutes. Remove them to a platter.

Add cooking wine to skillet on medium heat, however much you wish to use. If you want a lot of sauce, use more. If not, use less. (Remember to place the cooked chicken in a deeper platter if you make more sauce.) Deglaze the skillet, scraping up all those wonderful chicken thingies. Add about a teaspoon of the boullion paste, if desired. Pour glaze into a bowl and whisk in sour cream. Use more sour cream in proportion to how much cooking wine you used. Pour over chicken breasts.

I served this with penne pasta and caramelized green beans, but rice and steamed carrots or broccoli would be lovely, too.

What are caramelized green beans you ask? Well, maybe you don’t, but just in case you do, here’s how I make them:

Place frozen green beans (you choose the amount!) in a skillet with about 3/4 c water. Add salt and cover; simmer on medium heat for about ten minutes. Remove lid, add about two tablespoons butter, season to taste (green beans require a lot of salt in my opinion…and Mrs. Dash and I are good friends), and let cook, uncovered, until all water cooks away. Continue to sauté, stirring a little until beans develop that lovely caramelized look and fragrance. This brings out the sugar in them, and that bitter, yucky green bean taste disappears. Sprinkle with slivered almonds right before removing from heat, if desired.

My family enjoyed this dinner, although the kids referred to the delicate white wine sauce as gravy. And there wasn’t enough of it, so next time I’ll definitely make more. I think I’ll use part wine and part chicken broth to stretch it a bit.

Here’s what I did with the leftover chicken and pasta for lunch:

image

Just heat a little olive oil in a skillet, toss in the chopped chicken and pasta, add a little more wine, and sauté for a few minutes. If you want to get all photogenic, sprinkle some parsley on top. Enjoy!

Janice Powell 2013

Leave a Reply

