Marvelous Things

wedding song jpg“Lord, what do you want me to sing?” I asked while drying my hair on an October day in 2004. At the age of 73, my mom had a February wedding planned and asked me to sing during the ceremony. (You can read her story here.)

Immediately after I asked, I felt the Lord reply, “I could give you a song,” and the words of Isaiah 25:1 marched through my mind:

O LORD, You are my God; I will exalt You, I will give thanks to Your name; For You have worked wonders, plans formed long ago, with perfect faithfulness.

And then came the tune and lyrics! I rushed to the piano to pick out the melody and scribbled the words on a legal pad. By that evening or the next, the song was complete, and I called Mom to share it with her. I can’t remember if I actually sang on the phone – I sure hope not. But we both cried and I do remember tearfully blubbering, “Isn’t that great that the Lord did that for you?” Mom commented more than once that the words described her feelings exactly. What a humbling experience it was for me to participate in such a sweet blessing from the Lord!

I must emphasize that although I read music and have played the piano for many years, my knowledge of piano theory is very limited. But God, in His supernatural power, has graciously given me songs over the years. And after each one is complete, I ponder in astonishment, “How did I do that?” I continue to be in awe of His gifts. What an amazing Lord He is!

Or course, without music, lyrics read suspiciously like a poem. Perhaps you can imagine a tune to go along with the words!

The Lord Has Made A Way

The Lord has done marvelous things
Things planned long ago
In His infinite wisdom
He knew that I would need you.

Though not the path that we chose
We believe that only God knows
The way through sorrow and pain
And He’s shown us how to love again.

I can’t believe you’re mine today
I can’t believe it’s true
A blessing from above
An old friend, a new love.
A chance to love again
A chance to live again
I can’t believe you’re mine today
The Lord has made a way.

<Music>

The Lord has done marvelous things
Things planned long ago
In His infinite wisdom
He knew that I would need you

You’re standing here holding my hand
It’s part of God’s perfect plan
A new love, a new start
One love, one heart.
A chance to love again
A chance to live again
I can’t believe you’re mine today
The Lord has made a way.

Janice Powell 2013

2 thoughts on “Marvelous Things

  1. Janice, this is precious! What a blessing you have been to your mother. God is so good to us, just when we are at our weakest He knows just what to do.

Leave a Reply

