Engraved

These are lyrics to a song the Lord gave me in 2005. They are based on Isaiah 49:16a which reads, “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.” (NIV)

My name is engraved
On the palms of Your hands
I don’t know why
You chose to die
And I’m to blame
For Your pain.
You took the nails
Meant for me
And wrote my name.
[music]

Your name is engraved
Upon my heart, upon my heart
I know the reason
I love you
You loved me first
Right from the start.
You took Your love
And wrote Your name
Upon my heart.

Chorus:
You wrote my name
On the palms of Your hands
Such love
I cannot understand
You wrote Your name
Upon my heart
And I will never be the same.

Your name is engraved
Upon my heart, upon my heart
I know the reason
I love you
You loved me first
Right from the start.
You took Your love
And wrote Your name
Upon my heart.
Jesus, You’re engraved upon my heart.

Janice Powell 2013

Leave a Reply

