Ashes for Dinner?

Ashes 1He feeds on ashes; a deceived heart has turned him aside. And he cannot deliver himself, nor say, “Is there not a lie in my right hand?” Isaiah 44:20 (NAS)

How often do we read, watch, or listen to something that muddles our thinking, confuses us, or deceives us? How often do we settle for something so much less than what God offers? How often do we allow ourselves to be deceived by lies instead of fed with truth? How often do we feed on ashes instead of the bread of life?

Why would we ever want to settle for less than what the King of the universe has in store of us? Because we are deceived.

But we don’t have to stay in our deception!

If you know someone who is living (dying?) in deception, pray. They cannot deliver themselves. They need Jesus to supernaturally remove the veil from their eyes.

The Lord inspired this song through my pondering the above verse. I pray the Lord uses it as a lifeline for you or someone you care about.

Holding on to empty dreams
Believing a lie
Looking for a way to make
This pain subside.

Searching where I cannot find
The things that satisfy;
Drinking from an empty jar,
From a well that’s dry.

My hollow heart knows only that
It’s longing to be filled
Always searching, never knowing
Only You can heal.

Feeding on ashes
While your love awaits
To fill the hunger in my soul
With grace.
Unable to deliver
Myself from my pain
Desperately I come to You
And pray:

Turn my eyes from worthless things
My heart from the lies
Save me from my self destruction
And make me realize
Nothing but Your endless love
Nothing less than You
Can satisfy my searching soul
And make me new.

No more
Holding on to empty dreams
Believing a lie
Looking for a way to make
This pain subside.
No more feeding on ashes
While Your love awaits

To fill this hunger in my soul
With grace.
To fill this longing in my soul
With grace.
You fill this empty heart of my mine
With grace.

Janice Powell 2013

Leave a Reply

