No Matter What

Whenever there is a tragedy, part of me grieves with the victims, and part of me wants to shout from the roof tops, JESUS LOVES YOU! But another part of me–the disturbing part–grumbles deep down where the fears fester, “What if that were me or my loved ones?”

What would I do? How would I react? What words would I not want to hear come out of the mouths of well-meaning people? Would I allow it to destroy my faith?

I understand that God provides grace for the moment. I get that we cannot know His specific comfort for a specific situation until we are in it. Maybe that is what bothers me the most–the until. I mean, what’s going to keep the unspeakable tragedy from happening to me? Or my children? Or any other of my loved ones?

The fact that I am a Christ-follower doesn’t insulate me from tragedy. The fact that I am a Christ-follower doesn’t negate the reality of my living in a broken world. So I have to believe, I have to have settled ahead of time, that Christ is with me no matter what. That in His hand there is nothing that can happen to me that surprises Him. That He will never leave me nor forsake me, even though in the midst of tragedy my flesh may scream, “Where is God?” and unbelievers may echo my own doubts and taunt, “Where is your God? Why did He let this happen to you? To us?”

My hope is that I can firmly answer, because I have settled it beforehand: my God is right here with me. My Savior’s presence and power are as sure as the air I breathe. No matter what.

Janice Powell 2013

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1 NAS

4 thoughts on “No Matter What

  1. I have never felt so weak in a valley or known how strong He is to carry me until the valley. It is so unsettling to hear of disasters etc., and you are wise to remember that we should settle our faith “beforehand.”

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. I think you know already from some of the things we as a family have been through….God is with us, and we just keep walking (so to speak), knowing that with His help we WILL get through whatever we must…..Love Always, Mom

Leave a Reply

