I Like Lists

I like lists. Lists make my life manageable. Lists help me focus. Lists keep me on course. Lists let me know I’ve accomplished something.

That was my list of why I like lists.

I love it when God gives me a list. There are many of them in His Word, but here are a few:

Deeds of the flesh and fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5)
Unrighteous who will not inherit the Kingdom (1 Corinthians 6)
The Beatitudes (Matthew 5)
Armor of God (Ephesians 6)
The Ten Commandments (Exodus 20)

Today I discovered another list in the verse of the day in my Bible app. Deuteronomy 13:4 instructs:

You shall follow the Lord your God and fear Him; and you shall keep His commandments, listen to His voice, serve Him, and cling to Him.

See the list?

Follow Him.
Fear Him.
Obey Him.
Listen to Him.
Serve Him.
Cling to Him.

In order to gain a deeper understanding of the instructions on the list, I dug into their meaning using the Hebrew dictionary. Here’s a word study on the verse with synonyms of the keywords in parentheses to expand the meaning:

You shall follow (walk behind) the Lord your God
and fear Him (revere, hold in awe and astonishment);
and you shall keep (observe, guard, and celebrate) His commandments (codes of wisdom),
listen to (hear with attention or interest) His voice,
serve Him (labor for, be a subject of),
and cling to Him (stay close to, cleave to, stick with).

Now here’s the list with the expanded meaning:

Walk behind Him.
Revere Him and hold Him in awe.
Observe, guard, and celebrate His codes of wisdom.
Hear His voice with attention and interest.
Labor for and be a subject of Him.
Stay close to, cleave to, and stick with Him.

Of course, there’s much to contemplate in each of these actions and what it means to put them into practice. However, I think we can take this list and make it our focus today. And at the end of the day, when we can check off each item as done, it will have been a really good day.

Janice Powell 2013

Scripture taken from the New American Standard Bible.

Are you saved? If not or you are not sure, check out the end of this post for a list of verses to lead you to salvation in Christ.

Leave a Reply

