Dear God, I’m Scared!

I originally wrote this poem for my father when he was considering his cancer treatment options in 2000. Life on this planet leads us through various unknown situations, many of them scary. If you are facing a fearful circumstance now, I pray you find comfort in these words.

Dear God

I can’t see past this moment,
past the fear I feel inside.
I don’t know what’s going to happen,
so in You I will abide.

You are my place of safety,
my stronghold in the storm.
Should the winds batter against me,
I’ll rest in You, protected and warm.

You haven’t shown me what tomorrow brings
so I must not need to know.
You will direct my steps, one by one,
and lead me where I should go.

As we walk this path together,
You’ll catch me when I fall.
And when we reach the finish line,
I’ll know You did it all.
(April 25, 2000)

Be to me a rock of strength,
A stronghold to save me.
Psalm 31:2

Janice Powell 2013

Leave a Reply

