Something About Job

Since I am reading through the Bible chronologically this year, I’ve been in Job for several days. I confess I always dread Job because it’s such a tough, intimidating book. Hey, it’s even difficult to name a post about Job. And I bet you really didn’t even want to read a post about Job, so I’m glad you’re here. I think you’ll be glad, too.

My usual approach to Job is to skim the first 37 chapters of tragedy, suffering, and bad advice, and then devour the last five wherein the living God paints a majestic and awe-inspiring portrait of Himself.

This time, however, I’ve tried to pay more attention to what the Lord wants to teach me throughout the book, and He’s shown me some gems along the way. Here is one:

He stretches out the north over empty space
And hangs the earth on nothing.
Job 26:7

This is one of those verses that you really need to stop and ponder. I don’t even know what it means to stretch out the north, but it sounds like a much bigger job than stretching out on the couch which is something I’m pretty good at. And have you tried hanging a planet lately? Think of that the next time you attempt to simply hang a picture straight on the wall. These two short lines describe creative power and strength that are beyond our imagination.

Job’s description of God here is impressive, not only because of how it speaks of God’s awesome power and ability, but also because Job, who has lost nearly everything precious to him and endured the extremely bad advice of his friends, can still praise God. Job’s attitude is summed up in another gem:

Though He slay me, I will hope in Him…
Job 13:15

Oh, to have that attitude in my own heart!

Job’s humility and response to suffering are why I don’t like the book of Job. And they are also why I do.

Janice Powell 2014

Scripture taken from the NASB.

Leave a Reply

