What? No Drinks?

My commuting husband waited at the airport to fly home last night. After doubting that he would even be able to get a standby seat because of flight cancellations due to winter weather, he was happy the gate attendant issued him a ticket for a flight that was to leave at 8:00 pm. However, the flight was delayed until 9:15 because, as the hundreds of passengers were eventually informed, the plane had not been catered. As in, the flight attendants would not have been able to serve those small cups of water or soda to help the passengers survive the 42-minute flight. Needless to say, there were several disgruntled customers who finally climbed aboard.

But as I thought about this scenario, and how I had prayed that the Lord would get my husband on just the right flight at the right time for his safety, I remembered one of my favorite passages:

But as for me, I trust in You, O Lord,
I say, “You are my God. My times are in Your hand…”
Psalm 31:14-15a NAS

These words have become more than just verses to me. They are one of the principles by which the Lord helps me see the bigger picture and gives me peace. For if our times–our minutes, hours, and days–are in His hand, and they are, then He is orchestrating the events and circumstances in which we are involved.

To the world, it may look like a plane is just late or that a maintenance crew dropped the ball or that an airline is way too concerned about a 4-oz cup of ice and soda. But to a believer who trusts that the God of the universe owns that airline and all its airplanes, and that He can see every flight path and every runway, and that He is listening to the prayers of a wife asking Him to order her husband’s steps and carry his plane home, it is a case of sweet divine direction.

Sure, it would have been nice for Hubby to get home earlier. But remembering that our times are truly in the hand of the God whose name is on the deed to planet Earth, and who knows absolutely everything there is to know, past, present, and future, it’s much easier to accept, yes, even welcome, delays and schedule changes. Because you just never know what God saves you from. It may be something much more harrowing than a 42-minute flight without a cold drink.

Janice Powell 2014

2 thoughts on “What? No Drinks?

Leave a Reply

