My Facebook Posts During the Ken Ham/Bill Nye Debate – OR why most of my friends probably unfriended me

I knew I was posting excessively to my Facebook page during the debate, but when I went back to copy and paste for this post, I realized just how much. Dear friends that I still have left, bless your hearts.

So here are my thoughts as they came to me, beginning with the earliest before the debate began.

  • I am looking forward to the debate between Ken Ham and Bill Nye that begins shortly (www.debatelive.org, 6:00 pm CST). My first inclination was to write that Mr. Ham will obviously win because God is on his side, right? But then I felt the Lord whisper to me that He is also on Mr. Nye’s side. No, not on his side of the argument against creationism and for evolution, but for the man, for the soul, of Bill Nye. Our gracious Savior died for him every bit as much as He did for Ken Ham. And for you and me. May the Science Guy become the Saved Guy as a result of a divine encounter with the truth found only in Jesus Christ!
  • Since science points to the Creator, our battle is not against science, but against deception.
  • This is a live debate! We can lift up Bill Nye to the Creator he denies. By the end of this, he could be on his face before the King of kings!!
  • When your worldview is wrong, you’re going to get very little correct from there…
  • Miracles can’t be predicted or scientifically explained, sir.
  • I hear Bill Nye yearning for the knowledge and understanding that he could find in his Creator if only he would listen.
  • Creationism and scientific study are not mutually exclusive. However, the inability to see truth and scientific study are.
  • Mr. Ham is the only problem you have about the creation worldview, Mr. Nye??
  • “Intelligent design has a fundamental misunderstanding of the nature of nature.” –Bill Nye – For someone who has said the words, “I don’t know” several times during the debate, this statement is ironic. Sometimes he acts like he KNOWS and other times he acts like he doesn’t know.
  • I would like to know Bill Nye’s definition of joy!
  • Jesus said in John 6:44, “No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him; and I will raise him up on the last day.” I wonder if the fact that Bill Nye participated in this debate is one sign of God drawing him to Jesus. He certainly heard the gospel preached!
  • One final thought (unless something else comes to me), you can’t make someone understand the gospel. It’s illogical, nonsensical, and totally unreasonable that the infinite God would concern Himself with us enough to die so that we can live. That is certainly not something that can be explained scientifically. But that doesn’t mean it’s not true!
  • Ok, maybe one more thing. Mr. Nye possesses a lot of knowledge, but is missing the foundational piece of knowledge that determines the fate of his soul–a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge…Proverbs 1:7
  • On a lighter note, I had never heard Ken Ham speak. What a great accent!

Janice Powell 2014

Leave a Reply

