This

THIS I KNOW fix JPG

This I know, that God is for me.

These eight words from the second part of Psalm 56:9 can change your day and your life, especially if you take the verse apart and really think about what each word means. Read the verse aloud, and each time through, emphasize the next word in bold. Come on, do it! By the end, you’ll get your rhythm and sound like a cheerleader, but your family or coworkers may look at you strangely. Or maybe they’ll join you!

This I know, that God is for me.
I may not know anything else, all else may be confusing, but this one particular thing I do know.

This I know, that God is for me.
Even though others may doubt or disbelieve, I do not.

This I know, that God is for me.
With every single brain cell and heartbeat, I perceive, comprehend, recognize, and understand this to be true and factual.

This I know, that God is for me.
The Creator, Living God, Savior, Eternal Father, God Most High, Alpha and Omega, Wonderful Counselor, Prince of Peace, unchangeable, incomparable, unfathomable.

This I know, that God is for me.
Constant, always happening, continuing without interruption, nothing can change it, no one can stop it.

This I know, that God is for me.
In favor of, in support of, to the advantage of, in order to preserve…He is on my side.

This I know, that God is for me.
His unique creation, His child, His beloved, broken but mended, lost but found, blind but seeing, who I am, all I am, known fully, forgiven completely, loved perfectly…me.

Now, we can put it all together:

I may not know anything else and all else may be confusing, but this one particular thing I do know. Even though others may doubt or disbelieve, I do not. With every single brain cell and heartbeat, I perceive, comprehend, recognize, and understand it to be true and factual that the Creator, Living God, Savior, Eternal Father, God Most High, Alpha and Omega, Wonderful Counselor, and Prince of Peace, who is unchangeable, incomparable, and unfathomable, is constantly, always, continually and without interruption, in favor of me, in support of me, always to my advantage in order to preserve me–His unique creation, His child, His beloved–broken but mended, lost but found, blind but seeing, who I am, all I am, known fully, forgiven completely, loved perfectly. Nothing can change it and no one can stop it. My God is for me!

Janice Powell 2014

One thought on “This

Leave a Reply

