Until That Day

I wrote this poem in 2007 for a sweet man whose precious wife was in her last days. Perhaps you know someone who needs these words.

Until That Day

Forever in Heaven, my love, you’ll be
Safe with Jesus while away from me.
Until the time He calls me there,
You’ll be secure within His care.

The life we shared is from above,
Only He gives that kind of love.
Your sweet, gentle spirit is a picture of Him,
Your loving heart, a heavenly gem.

Now is your time, so rest, my love,
The angels are waiting for you above.
My heart is at peace for I know where you’ll be;
I’ll be there, too, when He comes for me.

Until that day, I’ll run this race
Knowing that soon I’ll see His face.
There you’ll be with Jesus our King,
And before the throne we both will sing.

Janice Powell 2014

Leave a Reply

