A City Built by God

Often when I read the Word, I chase so many rabbits that I’m not even sure how I landed on a particular subject. Thanks to electronic study aids, I can click on cross references and dictionary links to my heart’s content. For this lover of words, it is truly a bit of heaven on earth!

I call it chasing rabbits, but I know that the Holy Spirit leads me to what He wants me to learn. Today He led me to a mini study on what awaits us beyond this earth–the believer’s true city, our forever country. For we are, as Abraham was, looking for the city which has foundations, whose architect and builder is God. (Hebrews 11:10 NAS)

A city built by God Himself? Yes, please!

This study reiterated for me why my spirit often feels out of place and restless here. “Here” is temporary:

For here we do not have an enduring city, but we are looking for the city that is to come.  Hebrews 13:14 NIV

Considering the current political and social atmospheres in which we live, I am even more grateful that my true citizenship is in heaven:

For our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for the Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. Philippians 3:20 NKJV

And thanks to my Savior, my proof of that citizenship–my record of new birth–is held securely and eternally.

[F]or I know whom I have believed and I am convinced that He is able to guard what I have entrusted to Him until that day. 2 Timothy 1:12b NAS

There won’t ever be a media controversy over my birth origin for He signed the certificate with His very own blood.

In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace. Ephesians 1:7 NAS

And I have hope–a joyful expectation–because I know that this city has already been prepared for me:

Instead, they were longing for a better country–a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them. Hebrews 11:16 NIV

In the spiritual sense, we who have come to Christ have already come to that city that is  resplendent with the presence of the living God, myriads of angels, and Jesus Christ Himself. We are, through Christ, residents of that city:

But you have come to Mount Zion and to the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalem, and to myriads of angels, to the general assembly and church of the firstborn who are enrolled in heaven, and to God, the Judge of all, and to the spirits of the righteous made perfect, and to Jesus, the mediator of a new covenant, and to the sprinkled blood, which speaks better than the blood of Abel. Hebrews 12:22-24 NAS

But in the physical sense, we have yet to arrive. We must still complete our earthly journeys. It may sound trite, but we indeed are traveling to the promised land, that heavenly city. And when His purpose for each of us is fulfilled here, we will join Him there. It’s a promise!

And the Lord will rescue me from all evil and take me safely into his heavenly Kingdom. To him be the glory forever and ever! Amen. 2 Timothy 4:18 GNT

Janice Powell 2014

2 thoughts on “A City Built by God

  1. Right before I saw your post, I was looking out the window, sky looked stormy and it’s getting very windy. I said a little prayer, Lord pick me up like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz and put me down in a better place. (and I had a picture of it in my mind) I don’t like this one very much! So thank you for confirming there is a better place to me! Christine

    Date: Mon, 17 Mar 2014 18:32:33 +0000 To: cjhfromyork@hotmail.com

    1. Hi Christine,
      Thank you for sharing that with me! I never know what God is going to do with these words, but He always has a plan… I really hate storms, too. My kids come to me for comfort and I feel like hiding in a hole! 🙂 I hope everything has calmed down there!
      Janice

Leave a Reply

