Lord, Don’t Let Me Say Anything Dumb About You

It came about after the LORD had spoken these words to Job, that the LORD said to Eliphaz the Temanite, “My wrath is kindled against you and against your two friends, because you have not spoken of Me what is right as My servant Job has.” Job 42:7 NAS

I came across this verse about three years ago while I was leading a women’s group through my God’s Character study. Chills ran down my arms as the words leapt from the page: because you have not spoken of Me what is right.  It scared me then when I was teaching and it scares me now as I write about Him.

It is a fearful thing to pen words that attempt to describe Almighty God, how He does things and what He thinks. What words are really up to such a noble task? What if I choose the wrong ones? What if I write something about God that’s not true? Eek.

With that said, I will tell you that I realize you have a plethora of choices in what to read, so I appreciate your reading my posts and sharing them if you feel led. I truly write only when I feel inspired by the Lord, but I don’t claim to have any special revelation. I just love words and His Word, and the Lord seems to have given me so many extra words that I can’t possibly use them all up without writing some of them down. (You can check with my husband on that one!)

So I ask you to please test what I say. Please study Scripture for yourself and measure my words against it. I want my intent always to be to point you to Christ and His truth. I won’t always succeed at that. Sometimes I may wrongly try to point you to me instead of to the Lord. For that reason, one of my prayers is, Lord, help me stay out of the way. Make this about You, not me…And please don’t let me say something dumb about You.

You see, here’s the gist of the matter: I never want to put words in my Lord’s mouth. I want Him to put His words in mine.

God, may it always be so.

Janice Powell 2014

 

Leave a Reply

