29 Reasons Why We Homeschool

I’ve been a little mealy-mouthed about homeschooling over the years. I haven’t screamed from the rooftops that everyone should homeschool, mainly because I know that for various reasons, not everyone can. Neither have I adequately defended or explained our choice beyond a meek, well, it works for our family.

I have a few excuses for my meekness. First, I don’t want to hurt the feelings of those whose kids attend a brick and mortar school — although there are a few people out there who haven’t extended the same courtesy to me.

Also, I do not wish to offend my teacher friends who are godly men and women working in rather hostile environments in public schools. These teachers have their work cut out for them. Yet I know they are making an eternal difference in the lives of their students.

But about 17 years ago, the Lord put it on my heart for us to remove our children from public school and educate them at home. Our reasons have been more and more solidified over the years since the world, as the saying goes, is going to hell in a hand basket. And the enemy has engaged warp speed. A cursory glance at news headlines any moment of the day confirms this truth.

So here are 29 reasons why we homeschool. Some of you might be irritated by this. Or offended. But know that if you send me hate mail, I’ll just use it as a teaching moment for my kids because that’s what homeschoolers do. And I might even have them write you back.

Blessings to you,

Janice

Why we homeschool CORRECT JPG

 

Janice Powell 2014

2 thoughts on “29 Reasons Why We Homeschool

  1. Hello fellow Jesus Freak & Homeschool Mama.

    Here is my “short” list as to why I homeschool:

    1. Life is short, and I want to spend as much time with my kiddoes before they launch out to college, career, marriage, mission field, what have you.
    2. Life is short, I want to have lots of fun memories when I am in the nursing home about all the silly things we did for school: Fieldtrips, fun, Mock Land Run, papers they read, projects we worked on, songs they sang, food we cooked, friends we met and invested in.
    3. Life is short, let us live to God’s glory by His great mercy!

    😀

    1. Jesus Freak and Homeschool Mama…does life get any better? I think not! Amen to all those you listed, especially life is short. 😀

Leave a Reply

