Rejoicing in Normalcy

I can’t quite get my head and heart around the fact that while I’m just relaxing in my house or going to Wal-Mart or snuggling with my kids or fixing dinner or doing laundry or attending church or walking outside without fear for my life or driving down roads that are free of checkpoints–while I’m doing all the everyday things an American mom does, Christians in other parts of the world are being driven from their homes, threatened, tortured, and slaughtered because of their faith in Jesus.

Yes, there has been persecution from the beginning, but it is escalating. And the political, social, spiritual, and moral landslide in America is preparing the way for true persecution here.

Revelation verse pic JPGSounds surreal, like a movie we could watch but not a story we might actually have to live. Are we ready? Am I ready? I really don’t know.

But I do know that never have “doing laundry” and “washing dishes” sounded so peaceful and normal. Today, I will rejoice in the normalcy of my life while my heart breaks for those moms and dads and brothers and sisters on the other side of the world who would give anything to trade places with me.

Janice Powell 2014

 

One thought on “Rejoicing in Normalcy

Leave a Reply

