50 Shades of Grey – my confession

Here’s what I have to say about the book and movie: But for the grace of God, there go I. (John Bradford)

In my former days, I would have read the book (or books…are there more than one?) and watched the movie. Back then, my mouth said I was a Christian, but my actions spoke otherwise, not only through what I set before my eyes, but in the other sins I committed. Since then though, God has pursued me relentlessly, forgiven me completely, and filled me abundantly with new desires. In truly coming to know my Savior better and desiring to please Him above all others, I have found that which fills and satisfies like no other. Because of His grace and goodness to me, these words from Psalm 101 are the desire of my heart:

I will walk within my house in the integrity of my heart. I will set no worthless thing before my eyes. Psalm 101:2-3

I share part of my story with you to assure you that you don’t need filth when there is faith. You don’t need the world’s twisted version of relationships when you can enjoy a loving, vibrant relationship with the One who created you, the One who knows you better than you know yourself.

O LORD, You have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and when I rise up; You understand my thought from afar. You scrutinize my path and my lying down, And are intimately acquainted with all my ways. Psalm 139:1-3

Lay all your desires and needs down at the cross. Trust Him to fill you. Strive to please Him in all that you do, say, see, and hear. I promise you, your life will never be the same. Then you can do as I do and continually say, “I can’t believe I used to want that.”

Delight yourself in the LORD; And He will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

Believe me, the change in me is not because of a spiritual superiority or anything I accomplished on my own. It is only the miraculous work of the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ, the One and Only. He drew me to Him and I have stayed because He is everything my soul needs. He continues to work on me, and I am forever grateful that this is the life story He wrote for me:

I waited patiently for the LORD; And He inclined to me and heard my cry. He brought me up out of the pit of destruction, out of the miry clay, And He set my feet upon a rock making my footsteps firm. He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God; Many will see and fear And will trust in the LORD.
Psalm 40:1-3

Janice Powell 2015

Scriptures from the New American Standard Bible.

 

 

3 thoughts on “50 Shades of Grey – my confession

  1. He causes us to be born again, and it is marvelous in our eyes. Even though my discernment has grown, to me, slowly, it has grown and for that I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

