Elections and deceptions in the land of rainbows and unicorns…and strip clubs

This election cycle has caused or exposed much confusion and deception regarding Scriptural truth. Strip club owner Donald Trump has deceived many with his blustering, proud, I’m-a-Christian-but-I-don’t-need-forgiveness “theology.” But don’t get me started on him because in this post I specifically address concerns about the nice, mild-mannered Dr. Ben Carson. Let it be known that I am not judging the condition of his heart. I am discerning his views based upon his own words.

At various times I have commented on several Facebook pages, posting a link to my Blessed is the Nation page on which I responded to a post by Dr. Carson last Easter. My purpose in sharing this information is to educate Christian voters about Dr. Carson’s theology as described in his Easter post. I insert the text here in case the link becomes inaccessible.

Dr. Ben Carson

As Easter approaches, let us remember the role that Jesus Christ and God play in our lives. Let us also remember that Jews, Christians and Muslims all believe in God, and while there are ideological differences in who Jesus was, we should find peace in the fact that we are all God’s children. Jesus is my role model, and he preached love, he preached acceptance. He also was a man of values and principles, and he ended up being crucified for it. But, he rose again to advocate godly principles of loving our fellow man, caring about our neighbors, developing our God-given talents to the utmost so that we become valuable to the people around us, and maintaining high ideals that govern our lives. We must make certain that people of all types of faith are respected by one another. Let us remember that the First Amendment to the United States Constitution is one of the basic pillars of our system of governance and a founding principle of our nation, as it protects religious freedom. It is critical that we allow Americans to practice their religious ways, while also ensuring that no one’s beliefs infringe upon those of others.

Throughout the globe we must serve as champions of freedom of religion. As people across the world are persecuted by religious fanatics who perform hateful acts of ignorance, we Americans have a duty to denounce these acts of persecution. By standing up to such intolerance, we are defending the root of our freedom. I enjoy the following quote from the second Chronicles 7:14, “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves and pray, and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sins and will heal their land.”
April 4, 2015 at 9:00am · Public

Here is how I responded that day:

I have had a bad feeling about this man but couldn’t pinpoint it except to say he seems too “compromisey.” This post clinches it. He is WRONG. Allah and God Most High are not the same and we are not all God’s children! What he says here is wrong on so many levels.

“But, he rose again to advocate godly principles of loving our fellow man, caring about our neighbors, developing our God-given talents to the utmost so that we become valuable to the people around us, and maintaining high ideals that govern our lives.” WHAT?? What about conquering death and purchasing our salvation and eternal life? Dr. Carson is a wolf in sheep’s clothing.

(TO SHARE THIS POST WITH MY COMMENTS HERE, YOU WILL NEED TO COPY AND PASTE MINE WITH IT. THANK YOU.)

Today a reader posted this accusatory comment on my page:

This is ridiculous! If you had followed Dr. Carson you would know that he is a born again Christian. Based on what he’s said for *years* I believe he meant that we are all God’s CREATION. And FYI, yes we do serve the same God as the Jews!! Dr. Carson is so far from a wolf in sheep’s clothing it’s absurd. YOU are far more of a wolf in sheep’s clothing than he is! You are causing division among the body of Christ. The Bible says to warn a divisive man once, then twice, then if he does not listen have nothing to do with him. You are the divisive man!

I’ve been called many things, just never a man. But I digress. Here is my response to “Michelle” and others who would agree with her:

How is it reasonable or even possible to go by what someone meant to say rather than what they actually said? Also, I said Allah, the Muslim god, is not the same God that Christians and Jews follow. I never mentioned the Jewish God in my above post, but I will here. Yes, Christians and Jews worship the one true God, although non-Messianic Jews do not acknowledge Jesus Christ as the Messiah.

Furthermore, I stated some of the reasons I disagree with Dr. Carson’s theology as he wrote in his post. I reiterate them here with added explanation (and perhaps a little less reactive anger than before).

Jesus Christ wasn’t crucified because He was a man with “values and principles.” He was crucified as the propitiation for our sin so that those who believe in Him can escape eternal punishment in hell (Romans 3, et al.). Jesus didn’t rise again to “advocate godly principles” or any of that other gibberish Carson stated (excepting the caring about our neighbors instruction). Jesus rose again to conquer death (as the “firstborn from the dead” – Colossians 1:18) so that believers can enjoy eternal life with Him (Romans 6, et al.).

Dr. Carson’s words sound happy and nice and pleasant, but the gospel he described above is a false one, and therein lies the danger–hence my opinion that he is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. (See Matthew 7:15; Galatians 1:6-9 et al., discuss “different gospels.”)

The following passage, as well as many others, is a sobering instruction:

See to it that no one takes you captive through philosophy and empty deception, according to the tradition of men, according to the elementary principles of the world, rather than according to Christ. Colossians 2:8 NAS

That verse is sobering because when I first began to hear about Dr. Carson, I was intrigued and interested to learn more about him. I even thought, wow, a nice man like him would be refreshing as president. I was nearly taken captive. But as I read more of his writings, thankfully I began to sense some uneasiness as I described in my Facebook post. I cannot locate anywhere in Scripture the “gospel” he purports to believe.

I don’t know Dr. Carson’s heart, and I respectfully assert that neither does my angry reader. And granted, he may not even understand the danger of his words. But his words are what we have to go by. Therefore, based on those he wrote last April, as well as at other times, I reassert that I disagree with his theology.

If you disagree with what I have written here, that is your choice. I would be interested to read your Scripture references supporting your view. Additionally, if I am “the divisive man” as my reader stated, I firmly believe God Most High is capable of revealing that truth to me. However, what I believe He has shown me through Scripture is that Carson’s words above describe a false gospel. That gospel wouldn’t have required Christ’s cruel, sacrificial death to pay the penalty for our sin that separated us from the Most Holy God. God could have just patted all of us on the back and told us to be nice and accept everyone and compromise and get along and sing Kum Ba Ya together in the land of rainbows and unicorns…and strip clubs.

But that is not the Gospel. The true Gospel, the Gospel that centers on a bloody cross upon which Jesus Christ bore my sin and saved me from eternal punishment, doesn’t call us to be nice and compromise Scripture to get along. It calls us to truth and repentance and sacrifice. It is this Gospel that I desire to see furthered and not trampled upon, whether purposely or in ignorance. The blood of Christ is too precious and the price He paid for my redemption and yours is far too costly.

Janice Powell 2016

Note: After I shared this post with Michelle, she responded with, “No thanks. I’ll be obeying the Bible on this matter.” She wasn’t even willing to read it. I tried…

 

8 thoughts on “Elections and deceptions in the land of rainbows and unicorns…and strip clubs

  1. Wow… you’re really something, aren’t you?
    I wrote a comment, not a whole blog. Now I could go into every tiny detail as to why you are wrong; I could list every single scripture that states that Jesus was/is a man of values and integrity and DOES call us to love others, even those who have differing faiths than us; I could screen shot every time Dr. Carson talked about our beloved Savior and salvation; but I won’t waste my time because you’ve already hardened your heart towards him.

    Also, yes, you DID suggest that the God the Jews serve is not the same as our God. As far as the god of the Muslims, most Christians know that “Allah” is not the same God as the God of the Bible, however, many people who are unlearned about the Muslim faith believe what they’ve been told by Muslims: That they serve the God of the first five books of the Bible–which IS our God. As a matter of fact, I have a friend who ministers to Muslims and has many, MANY Muslim friends and this is what they tell her. According to you, this ignorance makes a person a “wolf in sheep’s clothing” and a man who is not a Christian. (And of course you have to know a man’s heart to be able to make that call, which is why God told us to NEVER do it, yet you have done it anyway.)

    You are a perfect example of what turns so many away from Christ. They see a person who claims to be a Christian attack another person who claims to be a Christian–one who has never shown anything other than Godly behavior–and they are disgusted by it. They want nothing to do with the God of those people.

    You attacked Dr. Carson–then you attacked me for disagreeing with you–but never mentioned the fact that, even with his apparent ignorance of their religion, he opposes their terrorism, wants to secure our borders, believes that we need to follow the God of the Bible and the Biblical principals our nation was founded on, and has no tolerance for Sharia law or forcing people to learn about “Allah”.

    Would you really want a total heathen in office rather than a good man who stands for all these things, simply because of this minor ignorance? Gee…if only we could all be as perfect as you.

    For the record: I’m only here because my friend wanted to know what you said after I told her about our brief conversation. Imagine my surprise when I saw that you dedicated this to, yet again, attacking the body of Christ.

    Also, I apologize for calling you a “man”, even though you are a huMAN, and the title “Blessed Nation” is not gender specific. Again…if only I could be as perfect as you…

    Titus 3:10 – Warn a divisive person once, and then warn them a second time. After that, have nothing to do with them.

    (That would be the scripture I was referring to when I said I’m going to obey the Bible.)

  2. It seems to me that no one can have an opinion these days without having to bear verbal attacks and that is a sad state of affairs in any arena. I view Janice’s heart is pure and unadulterated, but we as human’s are inherently flawed. We have alot of good candidates in this year’s elections, all very unique with so many talents. The question is, what are the problems and who is best qualified to solve them? Surely we have economic problems and we have security problems because of the current administration. Who would want the daunting task of attacking these problems when so much is at stake? Those who speak boldly and have demonstrated expertise in these areas. I am glad our candidates are not influenced by special groups, lobbyists, or the left, that is such a big plus and a fresh concept in the political arena. Faith on the other hand is one’s relationship with God, we are all on our own journey, some more advanced than others. I don’t think we should be judging each other on faith, our candidates weren’t called to be preacher’s of the Gospel, but leaders of our country in the most crucial time in history. All may not be religiously correct but thank God they are not politically correct! Speaking to one another in love carries more power than attacking each other’s opinions, beliefs, or personalities. There is a definite conflict that has arisen in our country, a very present and active force never ceases to try to shut down the forces of light. Let all our candles shine bright enough and together we can conquer the darkness!

  3. It is good to read wise and discerning words, especially when such seem to be in scarce supply.
    Hebrews 5:14 tells us; “But strong meat belongeth to them that are of full age, even those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.” (King James Bible) Too few Christians today men or women, have “exercised” what God has made available to all who will apply themselves. I came here from a Facebook post you made on a thread I had posted to. Read your article “Elections and deceptions in the land of rainbows and unicorns…and strip clubs” and then your bio. I have to tell you I am old school I guess you could say in that I do not believe women are called to preach and so do not usually follow them because most write/speak from a foundation of emotion. I do not see that here based on what I have read so far. Neither do I count your words as contradicting the Scriptures in message or the form of preaching (usurping authority). The discerning spirit within me counts you a true disciple of the Word and a sister in the Lord. Your family is blessed to have such a woman as wife and mother. One thing I would say encourage you to change and that would be your use of a Bible “version” instead of the tried, tested, proven King James Bible. Briefly I will say that ALL new versions have an ungodly influence and that is for a purpose, a goal that does not lead to truth. I pray you will consider. Also I can point you to a few helpful links if interested. I find your comments on the candidates to be right on and glad you know to not quench that uneasiness in the gut which is truly the pricks of the Spirit of God. Blessings to you and your family! ~ Jim

    1. Jim, thank you so much for your note of encouragement. My ongoing prayer is to never misrepresent God, although I know I have and will because I am a flawed human. I never wish to stand in authority over men, either.

      I understand your appreciation of the KJV. I have been using the New American Standard for several years now because I love to do word study (I’m a word nerd!), and the NAS is a very accurate and direct word for word translation from the original languages. In my studies I have noticed a few discrepancies between how some words were translated from the Hebrew or Greek for the KJV, probably attributed to the changing nature of language. I am not a language expert nor do I know Hebrew and Greek. I just mean when I use the Hebrew and Greek lexicons I find that the original meaning for some words is translated a little oddly in the KJV. But we all have to remember that unless we do know the original languages, every version, even the King James, is a translation. There are many versions, i.e., paraphrases, that I avoid altogether because they border on ridiculous. All this to say that God knows our hearts and when we truly desire to know Him, He will show Himself. I certainly don’t want to offend you.

      I have noticed that there are not many people today who desire the meat of the Word. Many are being deceived. I pray God opens eyes and hearts, and that He starts with mine. Blessings to you and yours.

      Thank you for visiting my blog.

      In His grace,
      ~Janice

      1. Also, Jim, there are copyright laws when quoting from Bible translations. For instance, when I wrote my devotional book, I couldn’t quote from one version exclusively. So when I have several quotations, I try to vary the versions and use the ones that are the most accurate.

      2. I appreciate your comments Janice and while I have no wish to argue the point and will not I completely disagree with your defense of the new versions. I too have studied, but my use of the King James Bible is not a preference, but a strong conviction. I assure you, if you are reading something newer than the King James Bible you are reading something based on corruption. You mention the “originals” but what so many fail to consider is the fact that all “originals” are neither original or trustworthy when one knows their history. It is a shame for anyone to allow the Lord to take them so far in understanding only to have them balk at the final mile. May God bless.
        Jim

      3. So, with that reasoning, the KJV is also wrong since it was translated from the “originals”? I’m confused by your statement. I thought your first note was meant to encourage, but it seems now you are criticizing me and judging my understanding based on the fact that I choose not to use the KJV, which just happens to be an older translation.

        I trust the Lord to do this:
        “Search me, O God, and know my heart;
        Try me and know my anxious thoughts;
        And see if there be any hurtful way in me,
        And lead me in the everlasting way.” Psalm 139:23-24 NAS

        “Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” Psalm 139:23-24 KJV

Leave a Reply

